Bone(s) Throwing, Warhol Style – Angela (painting)

I can name a plethora of excuses for this painting: I had some canvas left over, not really useful for anything I usually do. Art supply hasn’t yet sent the stretchers I ordered for the ‘real’ next painting in my current art series, which is curiously enough based on the character of Angela and completely outlined. What brings me to the next excuse, I already had a line drawing of Michaela Conlin ready and handy for said painting. I like Andy Warhol. I thought it time to create another excuse to scare myself on Twitter. My other ideas would have been even worse. But most importantly: I can (and other do not)!

Oh yeah, of course some information: based on Andy Warhol’s Marilyn Diptych; some say it represents her life and mortality, some say it represents her movie and model career; I went for the later and played here with the idea of the actor as part of a dream, blurry and faded in the beginning and end, but gaudy, impressive, influential in between. Thinking of it, it fits the pop culture aspect of my series after all and I don’t need any excuses (well, maybe for the hero-worship part of it, I do).

Bone(s) Throwing, Warhol Style - Angela, detail picture in shadow lines

Bone(s) Throwing, Warhol Style - Angela, detail picture in black and white 1

Bone(s) Throwing, Warhol Style - Angela, detail picture in yellow and red

Bone(s) Throwing, Warhol Style - Angela, detail picture in red and green

Bone(s) Throwing, Warhol Style - Angela, detail picture in green and blue

Bone(s) Throwing, Warhol Style - Angela, detail picture in black and white 2

 

Leave a Reply

