Liebster Award or Facts about me, questions and recommendations for you

Liebster Award

I was nominated by my friend Debbie of Tink’s Essential Oils Journey  for the Liebster Award. Thank you. It is an honor. Knowing you and your story makes it easy for me to recommend everyone to go and visit you at your blog.

So, the Liebster Award. Liebster is a German word and can be either used as a subject  – a term of endearment for a beloved person – or as the superlative of the adjective ‘lieb’. In this case it means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, most beloved, most lovely, most pleasant, most valued, cutest, most endearing, and welcome.

Why they chose a German term, I am not sure. Yet, the award is given – and I say usually as I will have problems with at least one postulate when naming my nominees – to up and coming bloggers, who have less than 200 followers. My nominees are all further along the path, but any of them is still worth the mention and any award. And they are my ‘liebster’ blog – each of their kind. Hence, I just went ahead and nominated them anyway.

Were you nominated or do you have someone in mind that you’d like to nominate? If so, here are the Liebster Rules:
1. List 11 facts about yourself.
2. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
3. Create 11 new questions for the bloggers you nominate for the award.
4. Choose 11 bloggers with 200 or less followers to nominate.
5. Go to each bloggers page and let them know about the award.
6. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.

11 facts about myself

This is hard because not just my art is very personal most of the time, I also treat this blog like a mailbox to God or whoever is in charge for the big thing. So, where isn’t really much left about me that can’t be found on here. But let’s see:

–  I wear a bracelet on my left wrist. It’s a cheap woolen thing with a stone scarab and by now ready to fall off any minute. That is the only way it will come off. I bought the bracelet in July 2005 mere hours after the bomb attack in Sharm-el-Sheick, Egypt. In my darkest hours I look at it and it reminds me that there must be a reason, why I am still alive while so many others in my proximity died on that day. I haven’t found the reason yet as more often than not I think nothing would change if I wasn’t here, but it doesn’t mean there isn’t a reason and the bracelet reminds me to stick around and wait for it.

–  Since I was very little I am a huge sports fan. I swam. I did gymnastics. During my high school exchange year I played varsity volleyball, basketball and ran T&F for Blue Ridge High School in Greer, SC. I continued with basketball and beach volleyball afterwards. Now I do yoga, tai chi and whatever dance course in my gym I get my lazy butt moved to. As a consumer I love men’s soccer (Hertha BSC, Manchester United, England’s squad), NHL hockey (Flyers) and Dallas Maverick’s b-ball mainly. But I’m not a snob, I am known to watch about any sports from billiard to curling. Oh, and of course there are the Olympic Games.

–  If I could change one thing about me, it would be my (dis)ability to connect with people. I find people very interesting and care deeply about humankind in general and certain specimen of the species specifically. However, my attempts to interact more often than not end in failure or disaster. No, honestly. While I like to be of use to others, I miss the ease of relationships (in the wide sense) I see around me. I miss hugs, simple chats on twitter, giggles on Skype, being asked to talk on Whatapp, emails just asking me, how I am. Somehow, no one ever considers me the material for such things and any interaction is always a fight for me. What brings me to #4.

–  I think one of the greatest disrespect you can show me, leaving things like spreading lies, bullying and worse aside, is non-communication.  While I like silence and am one of the people, who don’t need a constant sound carpet in the background, silence because I am ignored or forgotten hurts me deeply. If you aren’t interested in any communication with me, tell me so, but don’t just ignore me or fob me off with non-phrases or promise something that you now will never happen. As someone, who sometimes needs to pinch myself to reassure me that I really exist (the philosophical question of the reality of our existence aside) this behavior isn’t helpful.

–  Asked as a child what I want to become when grown up, I replied a pediatrician. I am not sure if my sister’s death as an infant (before I was born) or my own story of croup made me believe that would be the right career for me, but I insisted on it even when my teacher back in East German times indicated that though being the best of my class they wouldn’t give me one of the two spots to move on to university. Well, times changed, the Wall fell and not being allowed into university wasn’t an issue anymore. That I have no depth perception, get queasy to my stomach when seeing blood, and caring too much, was.

–  Staying with my childhood conception of my adult life – my brother always wanted to live on some remote rock in the Highlands with internet as the lone connection to the outside world, while I never had any doubt that I would be a wife and mother of a whole soccer team of children. Today I have a lovely Sister in Law and a beautiful niece. And though being told and shown by someone else that I am his and his alone is even higher on my wish-list than becoming an international recognized artist, it doesn’t seem like it is meant to be for me. This fact counts for many of my tears.

–  It’s only number 7 yet? Oh boy. I am ferocious reader and while I’m at it, I live in the stories. Once I have discovered a new world I love, I am devastated when the book/ series ends and I have to leave it behind. And yeah, I do read smut, but only good and dirty smut.

–  When it comes to books, movies, TV shows – if the original language is one I speak, I prefer the original version over the dubbed/translated – always. Language is so much more than words. It transports feelings and a whole culture and these aspects are simply lost in translation. Plus, when it comes to the dubbing – the voice of the actor is lost and whereby a whole other layer of information that was important or the whole casting process would be for nothing.

–  In Notting Hill there is this quote about a moment that is surreal but good. My Notting Hill Surreal But Good Moment happened the day Bones creator Hart Hanson and Bones writer Dean Lopata started to follow me on Twitter. It’s such a huge nod, nothing that happens to you just so. While this is a fact easily to learn when looking into my Twitter follower list, that I never used the privilege to DM them they gave me by following, is not. Of course I would have questions or would love to ask them for support with networking. But in the end I think they are just two very nice guys, who have better things to do and mainly already forgot about me. And I am a huge chicken.

–  Some might know that I still do know how to cook, sew, crochet, knit, cross stich – you name it. But I am also pretty much capable to build a house as my dad taught me to lay bricks and put up dry walls, to fettle and to put cables into walls, make holes for windows and doors without having the building collapse, to work with wood, to lay carpets and to tile, to put wallpaper at walls and paint and some other handy things.

–  Still waters run deep? It’s definitely true where I am concerned. I’m introverted, shy and highly sensitive, what means that most people will perceive me as a very clam person. But my darkest secrets would shock even my best friends.

11 questions answered:

–    Why did you start blogging?

Of course, showing my art played a big role. But it’s also easier for me to write some things down than to talk about them. And (this is part of a story I wrote):

“Anyway,” I gushed, “I’m not that gullible. I discovered a long time ago that this blogging thing is one big ruse when it comes to the general public. Nobody really cares if little Miss Me has anything to say and what.”

“So, why did you continue to write on it?” Yes, that was a legit question. I had considered to stop blogging and just posting my new work a couple of times. At these times I would usually go for a longer stretch without updating the blog until I did it again. A girl has needs and desires, not all of them were fit to be fulfilled. And sometimes something just needs to be said to no one in particular to get it out of the system and not die of constipation.

“I treated it like my personal mailbox to the universe. Whenever I had a complaint to file, wanted to leave a request with customer service or required help of the HR department, I dropped a note.” Business language – that he should understand easily and should remind us of our real topic for this dinner.

“Did it ever reply – the universe?” His poker face was something to get used to.

–  Are you experienced in writing?

I live in my head. I am constantly thinking. All these thoughts need to find a way out. So, I like to write. Am I what you call experienced? I don’t know. Some people, who should know it like a lit agent say I have some talent at least.

–  What are your favorite things to do?

Painting & drawing, writing, reading and when the people around me are accepting and make me feel secure, I like to be around them and learn their stories, goof around, laugh and like to figure out, how I can integrate myself into their lives to be of use to them. I like to walk and travel. And though it makes me nervous and sometimes afraid I like to experience new things. I love to study, learn and teach.

–  How many places have you traveled?  Which was your favorite?

How to answer this without giving you a carpal tunnel syndrome? I lived – and by that I mean not just an extended vacation but having a daily life – in Berlin/ Germany, Greer, S.C./ USA and Revivim/ Israel. Places I traveled to (I keep it to states as anything else isn’t feasible):

USA (Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Washington D.C., Virginia, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Michigan incl. UP, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, California, Nevada, Arizona)
Canada (Ontario, Quebec)
Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, St. Lucia

Spain incl. Canary Islands, France, GB, Italy, Germany, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Austria, Lichtenstein, Andorra, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine, Moldavia, Greece

Jordan, Israel, Egypt, Tunisia

Mauritius

I truly can’t tell my favorite, because all places were made special by the people I traveled with or the people I met. And I still hope to see so much more. Anyone wants to sponsor me a trip to Australia and New Zealand e.g.? Who knows, it could become my favorite after all.

–  Do you enjoy nature?

Tremendously. I even like snow and ice, where it belongs and for no longer than two weeks at a time.

–  Name something on your bucket list.

They say one shall dream big, so I say: seeing a piece of mine hanging at the MoMA in New York or maybe as a piece of desire of Neal Caffrey in White Collar.

–  What interests do you have currently?

Next to all the things I already mentioned I am reading a lot about psychology and the latest brain research lately and I like to learn more about alchemy.

–  Where would you choose to live?

I love my kibbutz in the desert as much as I love the city life and the American life style. I could imagine to live at so many places on this planet. But I would love to take finally roots where I am loved and protected and worshiped and owned. Yes, I am a sappy romantic.

–  What are you proud of?

That wherever I have been so far, I am welcome to return.

–  What has been your most fulfilling accomplishment?

Not losing faith, trust and hope. I keep it at that as any explanation would be too lengthy.

–  What is one quality that you love about yourself?

Passion – allowing me to feel. Though it often confuses me and pulls me down, it also drives me on.

The Blogs I nominate for the Liebster Award:

That’s most definitely the hardest part for me because like in life in general I am not very integrated into any blogger community. I think I am always on the threshold and in between, hence the name of my blog. I do read other blogs – mostly from people I know personally or via the internet. But in no case I am sure that they will appreciate a nomination or really fit the bill of this award.

therisqueredheadreads  – she tells me, what I might like to read and I trust her taste in the field she covers.

Ahuva’s Collabortion  – she writes about technology, communication, branding, revenue and she knows her field.

There will be Bread  – it’s nice to broaden your horizon and with this blog you can.

Tiul B’Arzot Habrit  – though this bog is in Hebrew, you might want to follow just for the pictures. My friends hitting the road again and travel the USA from coast to coast and back again this year.

The drop in the bucket – My friend Heather writes for the blog and she has a bright head so it is worth reading what comes out of it.

Amy Plum  – a YA writer I met in Paris (and I still would love to do this illuminated manuscript with her). If I should Die, her latest and the last book in her current series, is out in the UK now and will be published in the US on May 7, 2013. Just read her series, it is incredible and so is her bog for the latest info.

Birka Wiedmaier – she’s my aunt, but more importantly, she is a very good photographer. Enjoy her pictures.

I made it to 7 out of 11 – for me that’s not too bad. I’ll add the 11 question for the nominees, because it is the rule.

11 questions for the nominees (please copy, paste and answer):

–  What subject did you always want to write a post about, but never did because it didn’t fit into the scope of your blog?

–  If you could choose any person in the world to write a post for your blog, who would it be? Why?

–  If you had to choose between the two, would you rather be a student or a teacher? Why?

–  If time had wrinkles and you could slide down the skirt, what time would you travel to? What makes this specific moment of history so special to you?

–  Name a book crush and tell us, what makes him or her so special in your opinion.

–  Cat, dog or a robo-pet?

–  In his essay for All Souls College Matthew de Clairmont wrote that desire and fear are the prime mover in life (A Discovery of Witches by D. Harkness). Do you agree or would you choose something else?

–  What song is currently in your head?

–  Are you aware of the importance of always having a towel handy?

–  Would you choose to become Dr. Who’s next companion? What speaks for or against it in your opinion?

–  Some say the world will end in fire, some say in ice. And you say?

Reminder at the end: If you want to play along, copy these questions into a new post window, answer them, add 11 unknown facts about you and give 11 other (fairly) new bloggers with less than 200 followers a Liebster award (blogger doesn not have to have a WordPress account, it can be bloggers using other websites to blog also)!

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award or Facts about me, questions and recommendations for you

  1. Thank you, Aviva! I always enjoy hearing about your life. Interestingly, I was not aware that we are both shy & introverted. I miss you my dear friend. **Hugs** xoxo

    • Now I am surprised. You didn’t gather that I am the poster girl for shy and introverted? I might be a better actress at times than I thought. Thanks again, Debbie. Love and miss you too xo

  2. Aviva, I love learning more about you! And I thank you for including me on your list. I am generally pretty awful about following through on these things, but I am going to try, because you are someone I think so highly of.

    (By the way, I’m not sure if I broaden anyone’s horizon, but thanks for those words!)

  3. Pingback: Liebster, Part Two: 11 More Questions, Some of My Own & Blogs You Should Check Out | TheDropInTheBucket

Leave a Reply

