Four Freedoms

Four Freedoms is an art series by Norman Rockwell. Its theme was derived from 1941 State of the Union Address delivered byRoosevelt. During that speechRooseveltidentified four essential human rights that should be universally protected. These four freedoms are: Freedom of Speech, Freedom of Worship, Freedom from Want and Freedom from Fear.

Rockwell depicted those four rights 1943 in four oil paintings. These were reproduced in The Sunday Evening post on four consecutive Sundays and afterwards toured the country in an effort to sell the Series E Bonds. Though they were never on any war bonds, these paintings are as closely tied to the actual US government issued WWII war bonds as it gets.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s